Home?

The last six weeks have been crazy, to say the least. In the last six weeks we have lived in a retreat center, in tents, and in a moldy church (I not-so-lovingly named it the Mold Palace). I traveled when my family visited & stayed in hotels, then we lived in a villa in Jarabacoa, and a resort in the Dominican Republic. We have lived as 12 or more sharing one bathroom, in close quarters, on little sleep, with limited resources, in a not-so-safe neighborhood, using a bucket of water to flush the toilet, and also in what we would call luxury in hotel rooms with double beds (a big deal when you usually only have a tiny bed), on vacation, with the ocean just a few steps away. Basically, you get the picture, we’ve been traveling for the past six weeks and we have experienced a little bit of everything. But no matter where we were each week, we lovingly called it “home”. We began to throw that term around so loosely, basically using it to describe where ever our head would hit the pillow each night, that I started to think about where home really is for me.

Home? Immediately I picture Minneapolis. I picture the view of the city from my college apartment and every little thing I love about it. I picture my Mom’s house in Burnsville, my bed, my kitties. I picture Dad’s house, watching football with my family, cuddling with my puppies, and the sunset at the ranch. I think of what is to come back home in Minnesota: summer on the lakes with my family, warm hugs from grandparents, coffee shops, lunch dates on outdoor patios, driving the streets of Burnsville, wandering Minneapolis with my besties, finally being able to celebrate the people and things I have missed while being away this year. But I know that now home is somewhere else, too. Home is Montevideo. It’s our big white apartment, the friends we have here, the memories we have made, the things we have struggled through here, and the inside jokes (obviously Bernarda). Heck, it’s even the mold in my bedroom, the cockroaches, and the almost constant noise of the city.

When I decided to come on STINT and to move to Uruguay, I knew that this was where the Lord wanted me this year. I prayed about, sought the Lord, asked for advice, and felt so at peace with my decision. I was confident that God would provide the necessary support, sustain my relationships back home, and bring me good things as a I took a step of faith. In my time here, I have clearly seen the Lord’s hand at work. I have grown so much and learned so much. Sure, there has been hard things mixed in with the good things, but overall I really like it here. The Lord is faithful, and after not even six months, Montevideo has become home.

Your kingdom is an everlasting kingdom, and your dominion endures throughout all generations. The Lord is faithful in all his words and kind in all his works. The Lord upholds all who are falling and raises up all who are bowed down. The eyes of all look to you, and you give them their food in due season. You open your hand; you satisfy the desire of every living thing. The Lord is righteous in all his ways and kind in all his works. –Psalm 145:13-17

Leave a Reply

