The riches of His love

“Contame, Sis, decime tus problemas,” Ana Lucia said, as we sat on my balcony drinking coffee, sharing a hot ham and cheese sandwich, listening to the traffic whizzing by below us, speaking spanish a million miles a minute. Tell me, Sis, tell me your problems, tell me what was hard this summer. As the sun set around us, I shared the joys and struggles of the past few months at home in the States and listened as she poured out her stories too. In this moment, finally seeing my crazy Brazilian best friend again and finally letting out a lot of what has truly been hard recently, I couldn’t help but thank God for His perfect plan. Never in a million years would I have imagined that two years of my life would be a collection of rich moments such as this. I never could have imagined these deep friendships in a different language, the joy that comes with learning a new culture, or the great hope I now have for a nation I knew nothing about. I never could have imagined the emotion that comes with being part of His kingdom work. I never could have imagined the riches of His provision.

Naturally when I think of God’s love for me, I think of the cross. Yes, because of God’s great love for me, for you, for all, He sent His son Jesus Christ to die on the cross. He paid the penalty for our sins to draw us near to Himself, to give us grace, love, forgiveness and life everlasting. This is God’s love, of course, but I often forget that His love abounds in so many other ways as well!  In the last year, God has used Uruguay to open my eyes and heart to the world around me, to His power, to His love, and to His beautiful work of changing lives. In the last week, God has used my team and my return to this country to show me how much He loves me over and over again. In the last 24 hours, He has used Ana Lucia to remind me of my beauty and my worth and of His perfect plan for my life. His love is woven into the every day, evident in the things that bring me joy. He will always provide for every thing we need. His plan is truly perfect. The riches of His love will always be enough.

“And this same God who takes care of me will supply all your needs from his glorious riches, which have been given to us in Christ Jesus.” -Philippians 4:19

 

Leave a Reply

